Skip to content
Tags

First and ‘Directory string validation’ module

July 25, 2012

Alright.  For a while I’ve been wanting to keep a little blog about things I’ve been doing with programming and technology.  Right now I’ve been spending a lot of time trying to get more familar with Linux.  This is something that I should have done back in middle school but really haven’t gotten around to until about a year ago (I am 28 years old right now).  Also, I’ve been doing a lot of programming with Python 2.7 and 3.2.  I’m working on a Client/Server Socket example, modifications to Pithos, a Japanese Flashcard/translator program, and a small module to help people create directories.

Feel free to add your two cents on anything I am doing.  Most of what I’ll explain here is self-taught and there could very well be better solutions I haven’t yet explored.  Either way, some of this may be useful to some people out there.

The directory string varification module I am working on is just a simple peice of code that will take in a string which should be a directory path, and it will tell you if any filesystem will have a problem with that string.  I search around for a module that will do this for me and I have turned up nothing of use.  The purpose of the module I am creating isn’t to actually add the directory to the system, just to check if it is valid.

Right now I am planning on having two types of functions for two file systems (NTFS and Unix).  One type will merely tell you what is wrong with the string, the other type will correct the string and give it back.  Soon I will upload it to Github as opensource software for anyone else who wants it or wants to improve it.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

