Skip to content

Opening programs as root with KDE

September 13, 2012

Okay. So I’m not as good with Linux as I’d like to be. I’m preserving some of the little bits of information I’ve found so I can easily get to it later. I spent several hours trying to figure out how to change the login theme on Fedora-KDE. I’d go to system settings > Login Screen > Theme and install new themes but they’d never pop up in the list of installed themes. I found that you need to run system settings as root. To do that you use kdesu.

kdesu systemsettings

And vwalla, you are set, do what comes naturally and you’ll have a new login screen or whatever you need. Though, I’m not sure if kdesu will be easy to remember or not. It’s named like kde-su (su for getting root) but I read it as k-desu (desu is a Japanese word.) Oi

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

